GUIDE TO THE REQUIRMENTS OF THE IDAHO SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION LAW FOR

Grades Pre-K-12

REFERENCE

Section 39-4801, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02,
Chapter 15 “Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children.”

WHY CHILDREN

The Idaho School Immunization Law requires that children be up-to-date on their immunizations
(shots) to attend school. Diseases like measles and whooping cough spread quickly, so children

NEED SHOTS need to be protected before they enter. Most children need booster shots before starting

kindergarten.
Parents must present their child’s Immunization Record prior to attendance at public, private, or
parochial school in Idaho. Copy the full date (MM/DD/YYYY) of each shot onto the Idaho School

INSTRUCTIONS Health Form and then determine if the child is up to date. Health Forms are available through the
Idaho Immunization Program. As the school official, it is your responsibility to follow up regularly until
all required shots have been received.
VACCINE REQUIRED DOSES

All doses must meet the minimum age and intervals

Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis 5 doses* 4 doses meet requirements for ages 4-6 if at least
(DTaP, DTP, DT) one dose was on or after the 4% birthday.
Polio (IPV and or OPV) 3 doses
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 2 doses* Both doses must be administered on or after the

IMMUNIZATION _ 1 birthday

REQUIREMENTS Hepatitis B 3 doses**

Note: A 4t dose of Polio, Chickenpox (Varicella), and Hepatitis A vaccinations are recommended for
all school aged children. A booster dose of Td for all students aged 11-18 is strongly encouraged.
To protect students and prevent outbreaks, school officials should promote these additional
immunizations whenever possible.

*Effective for the SY 2005-2006 all children entering Preschool or Kindergarten must have 5 doses of DTaP and 2 doses of
MMR.
** All children born on or after November 22, 1991 are required to have 3 doses of Hepatitis B

Children up to 7 years

Dose One Dose One to Dose Two | Dose Two to Dose Three Dose Three to Dose Four to
(Minimum Age) Dose Four Dose Five
DTaP (6 wks) 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months
MINIMUM AGE IPV (6 wks) 4 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks
AND INTERVAL MMR (12 months) 4 weeks
Hepatitis B (birth 4 week 8 week w .
BETWEEN DOSES epatitus ( I ) weeks wee S#:ﬂddolg) eeks afte
Children age 7-18
(ACCEL ERATED Td 4 weeks 6 months 6 months: if 1st dose given at age <11 yrs
SCHEDUL E) 5 years: if 1stdose give at age 212 mos and 3¢ dose
givenatage <7 yrsand currentage = 11yrs
10 Years: if 3¢ dose given at age = 7 yrs
1PV 4 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks
Hepatitis B 4 weeks 8 weeks (and 16 weeks
after 1*' dose)
MMR 4 weeks
All children must present an immunization record prior to attendance. No child shall attend school
without proof of immunization status. Students lacking one or more required vaccine doses, but not
CONDITIONAL . ” . .

ADMISSION current]y due folr a dose, may be admitted on the colndltlon.that. they receive the still-needed dose(s)
at the first possible, recommended date. If the maximum time interval has passed, the student must
be excluded from school until the immunization(s) has/have been received.

Idaho law allows a parent/guardian to claim exemption from immunization requirements for their child

based on religious or personal beliefs. A medical exemption will be granted for those children who

present a letter from their physician stating that the child has a medical condition preventing them
EXEMPTIONS from receiving required vaccinations. The law does not allow parents/guardians to claim an

exemption because the shot record is lost or incomplete, or because it is too much trouble to contact
the physician or clinic and obtain a copy. For children with an exemption, a signed exemption form
(available through the State Immunization Program) or physician letter must be on file for the child.
(Section 39-4802, Idaho Code)
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