
Abuse and Incident Reporting 

Are there regulations requiring facilities to report abuse? 

Yes, federal regulation (§483.13(c)(1)(ii) and (iii) or F-225) governing long term care facilities 
state that a facility must report any alleged incidents involving mistreatment, neglect or abuse to 
the state agency in accordance with state law through established procedures. See Informational 
Letters 95-1 and 98-16: Reporting of Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation. 

Idaho Code, Title 39-1301(b) directs facilities to report directly to the Bureau of Facility 
Standards: http://www3.state.id.us/cgi-bin/newidst?sctid=390530003.K. 

Do Resident- to-Resident altercations without injury constitute abuse? 

Yes, all incidents resident abuse, neglect and misappropriation of resident property must be 
reported to the Bureau, see Informational Letter 2000-06, Resident-To-Resident Incident Call 
Line. 

How does a facility report incidents of resident-to-resident abuse? 

The Bureau of Facility Standards has set-up a Resident-to-Resident incident Call line (208) 364-
1899, see Information letter: 2000-06. Resident-To-Resident Incident Call Line 

What should be reported? 

Types of incidents that should be reported on this line would include all resident-to-resident 
altercations or abuse. 

What information is required to be reported? 

• Facility name and address/city  
• Date and time of call  
• Person placing call  
• Date and time of incident  
• Name of residents involved  
• Outline the incident, describe all injuries incurred  
• Outline the facility’s plan to prevent any repeat incidents  

Is there any follow-up required to calls? 

Yes, the facilities are requested to fax (208-364-1888) within 24 hours of the call, the following: 

• Facility name and address.  
• Copies of the incident/accident or occurrence report including names of witness, injuries 

sustained, and documentation of family and physician notification  
• Names and Social Security Numbers of residents involved  



• Results of investigation  
• Facility’s corrective action plan to prevent future incidents  
• Facility’s contact person in case there are questions or concerns  

What is the consequence for failure to report? 

The facility would not be in compliance with federal requirements or state law. Refer to 
Informational Letter 98-16. Reporting Of Abuse, Neglect, Or Exploitation, Idaho Code, Section 
39-5303 

To whom does one report other incidents? 

When the incident involves 
a… 

Reporting Agency(s) with in 
5 days of incident 

Phone 

Bureau of Facility Standards 
and 

208-334-6626 Licensed Nursing Staff:, i.e., 
RN or LPN 

Board of Nursing 208-334-3110 

Certified Nurse Aide Bureau of Facility Standards 208-334-6626 

Other Employees Bureau of Facility Standards 208-334-6626 

Bureau of Facility Standards 
and 

208-334-6626 Visitors, i.e., Family and 
Significant Others 

Adult Protection Regional Specific 

Resident to Resident Bureau of Facility Standards 208-334-6626 

 
What incidents does one report to the local law enforcement? 

Per Idaho Statutes, http://www3.state.id.us/cgi-bin/newidst?sctid=390530003.K, one is required 
to report when there is reasonable cause to believe that abuse or sexual assault has resulted in 
death or serious physical injury jeopardizing the life, health, or safety of a vulnerable adult. Code 
requires that this be done within four (4) hours to the appropriate law enforcement agency. 

 


