
Idaho Child Care Program (ICCP) 
Open Forum 

 
Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 

Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 



 Primary source of federal funding for child care subsidies 

 November 2014 - was signed into law after receiving 
bipartisan and bicameral support in Congress 

 Fully authorizes the child care program for the first time 
since 1996 - historic re-envisioning of the Child Care and 
Development Fund (CCDF) program 

 Law makes significant advancements by defining 
requirements in four key areas 

Re-Authorization Act of 2014 



 Establishes a 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP 
 3 month Job loss 
 Phase Out 
 Emergency Preparedness  
 Background Checks (every 5 years) 
 States must have an electronic system that makes available, provider-

specific information showing results of monitoring and inspection 
reports. 

 As well as: 
 The number of deaths that occur in child care settings 
 Serious injuries that occur in child care setting each year. 
 Instances of substantiated child abuse that occur in child care settings each year. 

 
 
 

Updates 



 

 Requires states to establish health and safety requirements in 
different topic areas. 

 See section 5.1.6 of Draft State Plan 

 

 Child care providers receiving assistance through the Child Care 
and Development Fund (CCDF)  also known as Idaho Child Care 
Program (ICCP) must receive and complete training on Health and 
Safety requirements during an orientation period.  

Health and Safety Requirements 



Health and Safety Requirements 

 Prevention and control of 
infectious diseases (including 
immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food 
allergies; 

 Building and physical premises 
safety, including identifying 
electrical hazards, bodies of 
water, and vehicular traffic; 

 

 Shaken baby syndrome and head 
trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and 
response planning, for natural or 
man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials 
and bio contaminants; 

 If applicable, precautions in 
transporting children; and 

 Pediatric First-aid and Pediatric 
CPR 

Must receive and complete H&S training during an orientation period 



Idaho’s Proposal (pre-service) 

Option 1 

 Complete 20 hours of 
professional development and 
includes all topic areas of 
Health and Safety, but also 
includes others such as 
Strengthening Families and 
Child Development 

Option 2 

 Complete 12 hours of 
professional development  
which would include all topics 
of Health and Safety 



 Requires establishment of: 

 Professional development and training requirements AND 

 Ongoing annual training and progression to improve knowledge and 
skills of CCDF providers 

 

 Requires States to implement Early Learning and Development 
Guidelines describing what children should know and be able to 
do, appropriate from birth to kindergarten entry 

Annual Professional Development 



Idaho’s Proposal (on-going) 

Option 1 

 20 hours of annual training  
required with 1-2 hours of 
those hours covering 10 health 
and safety topics 

Option 2 

 12 hours of annual training  
required with 1-2 hours of 
those hours covering the 10 
health and safety topics 



 Idaho Department of Health and Welfare~ ICCP page 

 http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/ChildCareAs
sistance/tabid/292/Default.aspx 

 

 Administration for Children and Families~ Child Care  

 https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/ccdf-reauthorization 

 Full details 

Additional Information  

http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/ChildCareAssistance/tabid/292/Default.aspx
http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Children/ChildCareAssistance/tabid/292/Default.aspx
https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/ccdf-reauthorization
https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/ccdf-reauthorization
https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/ccdf-reauthorization


Meeting Summary 
ICCP Negotiated Rulemaking – Public Meetings 

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 6:00-7:30pm (Local) 

Region 4- 715 S. Capital Blvd., Boise, ID  
 
Introductions:             

Ericka Rupp – Program Manager – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Fernando Castro – Acting Supervisor – Idaho Criminal History Unit – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Aubrie McArthur – Program Specialist – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
 
Considering the large group size, attendees were not asked to introduce themselves.  (See sign in sheets 
for a list of attendees.) 
 

Changes to Background Checks:          
**See the Criminal History Unit’s notes for copies of their handouts. 
 
It was explained that changes are being made to the background check requirements, due to the 
reauthorization of the Child Care and Development Block Grant.   
 
Additional exclusion criteria were added to the child care background check, specifically for crimes 
related to children. 
 
Background Check portability, and changing disqualifying criteria for applicants that are child care 
providers. Currently DHW background checks are “portable” meaning that if you get a check to work in 
home health, and then accept a position at a child care facility you may use your current background 
check.  In the future, child care background check requirements will be more stringent, and those 
cleared through DHW, but not for child care, will need a new check to meet the new requirements for 
child care. 
 
New Federal requirements around Notices of Clearance were also discussed, as child care employers will 
no longer see all of the crimes associated with an applicant on the Notice of Clearance.  They will be 
simplified to state “cleared” “passed” or “not clear” “denied”, without a list of convictions.  Some 
attendees expressed frustration with this change. 
 
New requirement to check child protection registries may increase fees for applicants that have lived 
out of Idaho in the past 5 years.  (Because different states charge different rates.)  Attendees wanted to 
be sure that if an applicant had not lived in another state in the last 5 years, that their background check 
fee would not increase.  That was confirmed. 
 
CHU website will be updated to accommodate changes to the rule, and will clarify if there may be 
additional charges to complete the background check. 
 



A question was asked about providers who work near a border, with staff that go between states.  They 
wondered if the states would require their own background checks for each state.  It was confirmed that 
Idaho will not be able to accept background checks from other states.   
 
An attendee wondered how the background check changes would affect providers and staff that have 
recently, legally arrived in the United States.  It was explained that the Federal State Department 
background check would not be accepted, those recent immigrants or refugees would still be required 
to go through the Criminal History Unit for a background check.  Applicants would not be excluded if 
criminal history information is not obtainable from the country of origin. 
 
Requirement to renew background checks every five years was discussed.   
 
Attendees explained that some cities are already requiring annual background checks.  Some providers 
were concerned that they may need a background check from DHW and an additional check from their 
city.  It was explained that the program would work to communicate the new requirements to the cities, 
and work to collaborate with them to attempt to prevent requiring separate background checks. 
 
A child care provider, who pays for their staff’s background checks, wondered if they could be billed for 
their staff’s background check with one invoice, instead of separate invoices for each applicant. 
 
Boise City licensed child care providers wondered what was different about Boise City’s background 
checks, and wanted to know the differences between a DHW background check, and a City of Boise 
background check.  It was explained that the Criminal History Unit is checking additional registries.  A 
provider wondered if someone could pass a Boise City background check, but fail a DHW Criminal 
History Unit background check. 
 
Attendees wondered how quickly applicants receive a Notice of Clearance from DHW Criminal History 
Unit background check.  It was explained that in May 2016 applicants without a criminal record were 
cleared on average in 3.4 calendar days from the date of receipt of fingerprints. 
 
A concern was raised that if the new more stringent background check requirements are only applicable 
to child care providers; other groups that interact with children and other vulnerable clients would be 
subject to a less restrictive background check.  It was shared that in the past, some agencies and 
companies had advocated to not apply additional hiring restrictions to applicants that are not working 
with children.  Some attendees requested that we strengthening the requirements for ALL applicants, 
not just child care providers.  All attendees were encouraged to support their concerns with written 
comments to the Criminal History Unit. 
 

Child Care Program Updates:           
A handout summarizing Federal updates to the Child Care Development Block Grant was shared (“Child 
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 Plain Language Summary of Statutory 
Changes”), a brief summary of the new law was discussed. 
 
Very brief updates on non-negotiable changes to the Idaho Child Care Program covering topics such as: 

 New 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP.  

 Three month coverage for families that lose their qualifying activity. 

 Phase out of child care benefits for families that become “over-income” 

 New provider requirements for emergency preparedness. 



 Background Checks (every 5 years) 

 New child care program website requirements to share provider-specific results of monitoring 
and inspection reports. 

 Updates to the Local Market Rate effective 10/1/2016 
 
 

New Child Care Requirements:           
All ICCP child care providers will be required to receive training in the following topic areas: 

 Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food allergies; 

 Building and physical premises safety, including identifying electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic;  

 Shaken baby syndrome and head trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and response planning, for natural or man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials and bio contaminants; and 

 If applicable, precautions in transporting children 
 
The State researched various methods of requiring and administering the trainings and presented two 
options for the training requirements: 

Option 1 (20 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete all of “Essential Training 1” which includes 20 hours of professional 
development and includes all topic areas of Health and Safety, but also includes others 
such as Strengthening Families and Child Development. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 20 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
Option 2 (12 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete 12 hours of professional development covering the minimum required health 
and safety topics. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 12 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
“Orientation” was explained as a period of time while a provider is beginning to accept ICCP.  
“Year One” was explained as the first year that a current ICCP provider is required to meet the 
new requirements.  All required trainings will be provided for free, online, and in English and 
Spanish. 

 
It was requested that trainings be made applicable to all child care providers.  Attendees expressed 
some frustration with being required to attend age specific trainings that may not be relevant to the 



population they serve.  Most notable, was school age child care providers being required to understand 
topics related to infants and toddlers. 
 
Some providers who had recently completed Essential Trainings requested that they not have to repeat 
trainings that were a component of their Essential Training.  They were concerned that the 
requirements may be duplicative of trainings they have already completed.  It was explained that the 
program was evaluating how to accept recently completed relevant trainings to avoid duplication where 
possible. 
 
Questions were raised about the training requirements for all staff.  There was a concern shared about 
the requirements for part time staff, especially for programs that may be utilizing seasonal staff for 
summer programs.   
 
Multiple attendees expressed frustration with the current process for submitting required 
documentation for licensing, ICCP, the Professional Development System, and Steps to Quality.  It was 
stated that these processes feel especially duplicative for city licensed child care providers.  They 
requested that the State and related agencies consider aligning due dates wherever possible, and 
standardize the process for submitting staff training information.  Attendees requested clearer 
communication and definitions around due dates, and reminders from IdahoSTARS. 
 
There were multiple questions about when the trainings will be required of staff.  Date of hire? License 
renewal date? What if the employee was hired a week before the license was due? 
 
One provider volunteered to share group training sessions that they were hosting for their staff, so that 
other providers could join to complete trainings together. 
 
One attendee strongly encouraged other attendees to consider the incentives available through the 
IdahoSTARS Professional Development System when weighing their options.  They explained that the 20 
hour requirement would make more people eligible for those incentives. 
 
Attendees requested that the required trainings be made available in-person.  They expressed 
frustration with online classes, and DVD courses, and strongly advocated to have in-person trainings 
made available over the evenings and weekends so that more staff can access the trainings. 
 
A child care provider requested that the State select the 12 hour requirement, they stated that 20 is a 
burden to them as an employer, especially considering the paid staff time as it relates to required 
trainings. They explained that the current requirements for licensing were already difficult to meet. 
 
There was a concern that the new ICCP requirements were in addition to licensing requirements.  It was 
explained that all of the trainings will be free and IdahoSTARS approved, and would be accepted for 
state licensing, and will be accepted by many cities. 
 
A child provider asked when they would know if they were up for a renewal of their background check.  
It was explained that the Vendor Specialists at IdahoSTARS would communicate those due dates with 
their license or ICCP Provider Agreement renewal packet.  Due dates will “roll in” over the course of a 
year according to the license or provider agreement date. 
 



An attendee expressed gratitude for the opportunity to provide feedback before decisions were made.  
She highlighted the complexity and difference in child care businesses and appreciated the 
considerations being made for all situations. 
 
A stakeholder highlighted how increased training requirements, and ongoing training requirements, had 
benefitted the providers they collaborated with and was supportive of the 20 hour requirement.  They 
repeated the request for in-person trainings, as online and DVD trainings were especially difficult for 
providers with English as a second language. 
 
 

Conclusion:              
As the meeting was concluded, attendees thanked for their time and were encouraged to check the 
Idaho Child Care Program website, as well as the Federal Office on Child Care’s website. All attendees 
were encouraged to submit written comments to DHW staff on all topics discussed at the meeting, and 
contact information was shared.   Finally, DHW staff agreed to be available after the meeting to answer 
questions that were not related to new rules. 
 



Meeting Summary 
ICCP Negotiated Rulemaking – Public Meetings 

Tuesday, June 7, 2016 6:00-7:30pm (Local) 

Region 1- 1120 Ironwood Drive, Coeur d’Alene, ID 
 
Introductions:             

Fernando Castro – Acting Supervisor – Idaho Criminal History Unit – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Aubrie McArthur- Program Specialist – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
 
Attendees were asked to introduce themselves as well.  (See sign in sheets for a list of attendees.) 
 

Child Care Program Updates:           
A handout summarizing Federal updates to the Child Care Development Block Grant was shared (“Child 
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 Plain Language Summary of Statutory 
Changes”), a brief summary of the new law was discussed. 
 
Aubrie provided very brief updates on non-negotiable changes to the Idaho Child Care Program covering 
topics such as: 

 New 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP.  

 Three month coverage for families that lose their qualifying activity. 

 Phase out of child care benefits for families that become “over-income” 

 New provider requirements for emergency preparedness. 

 Background Checks (every 5 years) 

 New child care program website requirements to share provider-specific results of monitoring 
and inspection reports. 

 
Changes to Background Checks:          

**See the Criminal History Unit’s notes for copies of their handouts. 
 
It was explained that changes are being made to the background check requirements, due to the 
reauthorization of the Child Care and Development Block Grant.   
 
Background Check portability, and changing disqualifying criteria for applicants that are child care 
providers was discussed. Currently DHW background checks are “portable” meaning that if you get a 
check to work in home health, and then accept a position at a child care facility you may use your 
current background check.  In the future, child care background check requirements will be more 
stringent, and those cleared through DHW, but not for child care, will need a new check to meet the 
new requirements for child care. 
 
New requirement to check child protection registries. (Different states charge different rates.)  May 
increase fees for applicants that have lived out of Idaho in the past 5 years. 
 



CHU website will be updated to accommodate changes to the rule. 
 
Additional exclusion criteria were added to the child care background check, specifically for crimes 
related to children. 
 
Requirement to renew background checks every five years was discussed.  Some providers worried that 
more frequent background checks may be a way for the state to make more money.   It was explained 
that the federal law prohibits making a profit on background checks.  The State is only allowed to “cover 
their costs” for administering background checks. 
 
Attendees explained that some cities are already requiring annual background checks.  Some providers 
were concerned that they may need a background check from DHW and an additional check from their 
city.  – It was explained that the program would work to communicate the new requirements to the 
cities, and work to collaborate with them to attempt to prevent requiring separate background checks. 
 
Attendees wanted to know why they needed new finger prints every 5 years.  It was explained that 
neither the State nor the FBI are allowed to store fingerprints for anyone who is not a criminal.  After a 
search is conducted, if there are no “hits”, the fingerprints are destroyed.  Additionally there is “wear 
and tear” on human finger prints that can cause them to change over time. 
 
A child care provider expressed some difficulty in obtaining fingerprints in very rural locations.  It was 
explained that fingerprinting can be completed by local law enforcement and mailed to DHW, though it 
may increase processing time. Some providers requested CHU fingerprinting at their local DHW office. 
 
Attendees expressed gratitude for very quick, helpful responses from the Criminal History Unit, and their 
quick return time for completed background checks. 
 
A child provider asked when they would know if they were up for a renewal of their background check.  
It was explained that the Vendor Specialists at IdahoSTARS would communicate those due dates with 
their license or ICCP Provider Agreement renewal packet.  Due dates will “roll in” over the course of a 
year according to the license or provider agreement date. 
 
A concern was raised that if the new more stringent background check requirements are only applicable 
to child care providers; foster parents and adoptive parents, and other groups that interact with children 
and other vulnerable clients would be subject to a less restrictive background check.  Some attendees 
advocated for strengthening the requirements for ALL applicants, not just child care providers. 
 
New Federal requirements around Notices of Clearance were also discussed, as child care employers will 
no longer see all of the crimes associated with an applicant on the Notice of Clearance.  They will be 
simplified to state “cleared” or “not clear”, without a list of convictions.  Some attendees expressed 
frustration with this change. 
 

New Child Care Requirements:           
All ICCP child care providers will be required to receive training in the following topic areas: 

 Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food allergies; 



 Building and physical premises safety, including identifying electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic;  

 Shaken baby syndrome and head trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and response planning, for natural or man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials and bio contaminants; and 

 If applicable, precautions in transporting children 
 
The State researched various methods of requiring and administering the trainings and presented two 
options for the training requirements: 

Option 1 (20 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete all of “Essential Training 1” which includes 20 hours of professional 
development and includes all topic areas of Health and Safety, but also includes others 
such as Strengthening Families and Child Development. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 20 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
Option 2 (12 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete 12 hours of professional development covering the minimum required health 
and safety topics. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 12 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
“Orientation” was explained as a period of time while a provider is beginning to accept ICCP.  
“Year One” was explained as the first year that a current ICCP provider is required to meet the 
new requirements.  All required trainings will be provided for free, online, and in English and 
Spanish. 
 

One provider was concerned that Idaho wouldn’t have enough available low-cost trainings, and they 
would have to start repeating trainings.  It was explained that after the orientation/year-one 
requirements ICCP will accept more training topics than licensing currently allows (such as business 
practices, classroom management, and social emotional development), and there are hundreds of 
available trainings to meet the ongoing requirements. 
 
An attendee explained that they didn’t care if it was 12 or 20 hours, but requested that the required 
trainings be made available in-person.  They expressed frustration with online classes, and DVD courses, 
and strongly advocated to have in-person trainings made available, while keeping in mind rurally located 
providers. 
 
A child care provider requested that the State select the 12 hour requirement, they stated that 20 is a 
burden to them as an employer, especially considering the paid staff time as it relates to required 
trainings.  They expressed that their staff are currently meeting or exceeding the requirement, but it 



may be a struggle to always maintain that standard with staff turnover, and time spent away from the 
classroom in training. 
 
A provider who had previously been employed in another state, explained that these proposed 
requirements are lower than what other states are requiring of pre-licensure child care providers.  They 
explained that they were happy to meet either of the proposed new training requirements as long as 
Idaho continues to provide them for free. 
 
An attendee expressed frustration with the current process for submitting required documentation for 
licensing, ICCP, the Professional Development System, and Steps to Quality.  They requested that the 
State and related agencies consider aligning due dates wherever possible, and standardize the process 
for submitting staff training information.  Other attendees echoed confusion between the date of 
licensure, the employee’s date of hire, and the date of the provider agreement.  They requested clearer 
communication and definitions around due dates. 
 
An attendee explained that some child care providers in their area had stopped accepting ICCP, they 
asked how the changes will impact providers that are licensed but not participating with ICCP.  They 
expressed the possibility of not accepting ICCP if the requirements are too burdensome.  They explained 
that ICCP as a program is becoming intimidating with new training requirements, and the potential of 
having a record audit.  
 
A provider requested that ICCP communicate the new provider requirements on the IdahoSTARS 
website, so that families who are shopping for care can see that child care providers who choose to 
accept ICCP have met additional training requirements. 
 
One attendee proposed using the required CCDBG quality set aside funding to pay for background 
checks, so providers don’t have any expenses related to background checks. 
 
The last comment, was from a provider expressing gratitude for the IdahoSTARS program, scholarships, 
grants, and free and low cost training opportunities.   
 

Conclusion:              
As the meeting was concluded, attendees thanked for their time and were encouraged to check the 
Idaho Child Care Program website, as well as the Federal Office on Child Care’s website. All attendees 
were encouraged to submit written comments to DHW staff on all topics discussed at the meeting, and 
contact information was shared.   Finally, DHW staff agreed to be available after the meeting to answer 
questions that were not related to new rules. 



Meeting Summary 
ICCP Negotiated Rulemaking – Public Meetings 

Monday, June 20, 2016 6:00-7:30pm (Local) 

Region 7- 457 W. Broadway, Idaho Falls, ID   
 
Introductions:             

Ericka Rupp – Program Manager – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Fernando Castro – Acting Supervisor – Idaho Criminal History Unit – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Aubrie McArthur – Program Specialist – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
 
Considering the large group size, all attendees were not asked to introduce themselves.  (See sign in 
sheets for a list of attendees.) 
 

Changes to Background Checks:          
**See the Criminal History Unit’s notes for copies of their handouts. 
 
It was explained that changes are being made to the background check requirements, due to the 
reauthorization of the Child Care and Development Block Grant.   
 
New requirement to check child protection registries may increase fees for applicants that have lived 
out of Idaho in the past 5 years.  (Because different states charge different rates.)  Attendees wanted to 
be sure that if an applicant had not lived in another state in the last 5 years, that their background check 
fee would not increase.  That was confirmed. 
 
With the new requirements, an attendee wondered how quickly applicants receive a Notice of 
Clearance from DHW Criminal History Unit background check.  It was explained that in May 2016 
applicants without a criminal record were cleared on average in 3.4 calendar days from the date of 
receipt of fingerprints, and 18 days from the date of receipt of fingerprints for applicants with a criminal 
record.  This may change for applicants that have lived in other states in the last 5 years. 
 
Attendees explained that some cities are already requiring annual background checks.  Some providers 
were concerned that they may need a background check from DHW and an additional check from their 
city.  It was explained that the program would work to communicate the new requirements to the cities, 
and work to collaborate with them to attempt to prevent requiring separate background checks. 
 
A brief discussion was had about the additional exclusion criteria that were added to the child care 
background check, specifically for crimes related to children. 
 
Background Check portability, and changing disqualifying criteria for applicants that are child care 
providers was discussed.  Currently DHW background checks are “portable” meaning that if you get a 
check to work in home health, and then accept a position at a child care facility you may use your 
current background check.  In the future child care background check requirements will be more 



stringent, and those cleared through DHW, but not for child care, will need a new check to meet the 
new requirements for child care. 
 
There were additional questions and concerns about city licensed background checks, and the 
portability of background checks conducted by the city.  Cities discussed were Pocatello, Ammon, Idaho 
Falls, and Chubbuck.  It was explained again that the program would work to communicate the new 
requirements to the cities, but cities may need to collaborate with each other.  
 

Child Care Program Updates:           
A handout summarizing Federal updates to the Child Care Development Block Grant was shared (“Child 
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 Plain Language Summary of Statutory 
Changes”), a brief summary of the new law was discussed. 
 
Aubrie provided very brief updates on non-negotiable changes to the Idaho Child Care Program covering 
topics such as: 

 New 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP.  

 Three month coverage for families that lose their qualifying activity. 

 Phase out of child care benefits for families that become “over-income” 

 New provider requirements for emergency preparedness. 

 Background Checks (every 5 years) 

 New child care program website requirements to share provider-specific results of monitoring 
and inspection reports. 

 
New Child Care Requirements:           

All ICCP child care providers will be required to receive training in the following topic areas: 

 Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food allergies; 

 Building and physical premises safety, including identifying electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic;  

 Shaken baby syndrome and head trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and response planning, for natural or man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials and bio contaminants; and 

 If applicable, precautions in transporting children 
 
The State researched various methods of requiring and administering the trainings and presented two 
options for the training requirements: 

Option 1 (20 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete all of “Essential Training 1” which includes 20 hours of professional 
development and includes all topic areas of Health and Safety, but also includes others 
such as Strengthening Families and Child Development. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 20 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 



 
Option 2 (12 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete 12 hours of professional development covering the minimum required health 
and safety topics. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 12 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
“Orientation” was explained as a period of time while a provider is beginning to accept ICCP.  
“Year One” was explained as the first year that a current ICCP provider is required to meet the 
new requirements.  All required trainings will be provided for free, online, and in English and 
Spanish. 

 
One attendee explained that Head Start staff members are already meeting the training requirements 
and wondered how they could verify that to the program so that they were not required to duplicate 
trainings.  It was explained that every effort would be made to align where possible with other federal 
requirements for Head Start.   
 
Some providers who had recently completed Essential Trainings requested that they not have to repeat 
trainings that were a component of their Essential Training.  There was a concern that the new ICCP 
requirements were in addition to licensing requirements.  It was explained that all of the trainings will 
be free and IdahoSTARS approved, and would be accepted for state licensing.  One attendee highlighted 
that these trainings could be a benefit to staff members who were working towards incentives in the 
IdahoSTARS Professional Development System. 
 
Attendees requested that the required trainings be made available in-person.  They expressed 
frustration with online classes, and DVD courses, and strongly advocated to have in-person trainings 
made available over the evenings and weekends so that more staff can access the trainings. 
 
A child provider asked when they would know if they were up for a renewal of their background check.  
It was explained that the Vendor Specialists at IdahoSTARS would communicate those due dates with 
their license or ICCP Provider Agreement renewal packet.  Due dates will “roll in” over the course of a 
year according to the license or provider agreement date. 
 
Questions were raised about the training requirements for all staff.  A child care provider expressed 
concern about the expense of paid staff time as it relates to required trainings. There was a concern 
shared about the requirements for part time staff, especially for programs that may be utilizing seasonal 
staff for summer programs.  They explained that the current requirements for licensing were already 
difficult to meet.  There was a concern that the new ICCP requirements were in addition to licensing 
requirements.  It was explained that all of the trainings will be free and IdahoSTARS approved, and 
would be accepted for state licensing, and will be accepted by many licensing cities. 
 
There were multiple questions about when the trainings will be required of staff.  Date of hire? License 
renewal date? What if the employee was hired a week before the license was due? 
 



Multiple attendees expressed frustration with the current and confusion about process for submitting 
required documentation for licensing, ICCP, the Professional Development System, and Steps to Quality.  
It was stated that these processes feel especially duplicative for city licensed child care providers.  They 
requested that the State and related agencies consider aligning due dates wherever possible, and 
standardize the process for submitting staff training information.  Attendees requested clearer 
communication and definitions around due dates, and reminders from IdahoSTARS. 
 
A child care provider expressed concern about all of the costs associated with training requirements, 
and was worried that they may have to raise the cost of child care to cover the costs of requiring staff to 
complete the trainings. That attendee expressed additional concerns about staff members that may 
struggle to, or fail to, complete the trainings. Another child care provider recommended having new 
hires complete the health and safety trainings as part of their new employee orientation; so that there 
would not be concerns about staff failing to complete the training. 
 
One attendee highlighted that these trainings could be a benefit to staff members who were working 
towards incentives in the IdahoSTARS Professional Development System. The attendee also highlighted 
that some cities are already requiring 12 hours of training, and have been successful.  Additionally, 
eligible employees would be closer to achieving an incentive through the IdahoSTARS Professional 
Development System. 
 
One provider volunteered to share group training sessions that they were hosting for their Head Start 
staff, so that other providers could join to complete trainings together. They suggested that this may 
help providers access trainings in rural communities. 
 

Conclusion:              
As the meeting was concluded, attendees thanked for their time and were encouraged to check the 
Idaho Child Care Program website, as well as the Federal Office on Child Care’s website. All attendees 
were encouraged to submit written comments to DHW staff on all topics discussed at the meeting, and 
contact information was shared.   Finally, DHW staff agreed to be available after the meeting to answer 
questions that were not related to new rules. 
 



Meeting Summary 
ICCP Negotiated Rulemaking – Public Meetings 

Thursday, June 9, 2016 6:00-7:30pm (Local) 

Region 2- 1424 Main Street, Lewiston, ID  
 
Introductions:             

Fernando Castro – Acting Supervisor – Idaho Criminal History Unit – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Aubrie McArthur – Program Specialist – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
 
Attendees were asked to introduce themselves as well.  (See sign in sheets for a list of attendees.) 
 

Changes to Background Checks:          
**See the Criminal History Unit’s notes for copies of their handouts. 
 
It was explained that changes are being made to the background check requirements, due to the 
reauthorization of the Child Care and Development Block Grant.   
 
Attendees asked if they could make comments about all components of Criminal History Background 
Check, especially disqualifying crimes.  They were encouraged to submit non-related comments after 
the meeting, or via written comment. 
 
Background Check portability, and changing disqualifying criteria for applicants that are child care 
providers was discussed.  Currently DHW background checks are “portable” meaning that if you get a 
check to work in home health, and then accept a position at a child care facility you may use your 
current background check.  In the future child care background check requirements will be more 
stringent, and those cleared through DHW, but not for child care, will need a new check to meet the 
new requirements for child care. 
 
A brief discussion was had about the additional exclusion criteria that were added to the child care 
background check, specifically for crimes related to children. 
 
New Federal requirements around Notices of Clearance were also discussed, as child care employers will 
no longer see all of the crimes associated with an applicant on the Notice of Clearance.  They will be 
simplified to state “cleared” “passed” or “not clear” “denied”, without a list of convictions.  Some 
attendees expressed frustration with this change. 
 
New requirement to check child protection registries may increase fees for applicants that have lived 
out of Idaho in the past 5 years.  (Because different states charge different rates.)  Attendees wanted to 
be sure that if an applicant had not lived in another state in the last 5 years, that their background check 
fee would not increase.  That was confirmed. 
 



CHU website will be updated to accommodate changes to the rule, and will clarify if there may be 
additional charges to complete the background check. 
 
A concern was raised that if the new more stringent background check requirements are only applicable 
to child care providers; other groups that interact with children and other vulnerable clients would be 
subject to a less restrictive background check.  It was shared that in the past, some agencies and 
companies had advocated to not apply additional hiring restrictions to applicants that are not working 
with children.  Some attendees strongly advocated for strengthening the requirements for ALL 
applicants, not just child care providers, with additional concerns raised about vulnerable adults and 
seniors.  All attendees were encouraged to support their concerns with written comments to the 
Criminal History Unit. 
 
There was a short discussion about peer specialists, and the denial/waiver process for those applicants, 
that was not relevant to the Idaho Child Care Program changes or updates. 
 

Child Care Program Updates:           
A handout summarizing Federal updates to the Child Care Development Block Grant was shared (“Child 
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 Plain Language Summary of Statutory 
Changes”), a brief summary of the new law was discussed. 
 
Aubrie provided very brief updates on non-negotiable changes to the Idaho Child Care Program covering 
topics such as: 

 New 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP.  

 Three month coverage for families that lose their qualifying activity. 

 Phase out of child care benefits for families that become “over-income” 

 New provider requirements for emergency preparedness. 

 Background Checks (every 5 years) 

 New child care program website requirements to share provider-specific results of monitoring 
and inspection reports. 

 
 

New Child Care Requirements:           
All ICCP child care providers will be required to receive training in the following topic areas: 

 Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food allergies; 

 Building and physical premises safety, including identifying electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic;  

 Shaken baby syndrome and head trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and response planning, for natural or man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials and bio contaminants; and 

 If applicable, precautions in transporting children 
 
The State researched various methods of requiring and administering the trainings and presented two 
options for the training requirements: 

Option 1 (20 Hours): 



Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete all of “Essential Training 1” which includes 20 hours of professional 
development and includes all topic areas of Health and Safety, but also includes others 
such as Strengthening Families and Child Development. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 20 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
Option 2 (12 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete 12 hours of professional development covering the minimum required health 
and safety topics. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 12 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
“Orientation” was explained as a period of time while a provider is beginning to accept ICCP.  
“Year One” was explained as the first year that a current ICCP provider is required to meet the 
new requirements.  All required trainings will be provided for free, online, and in English and 
Spanish. 

 
Questions were raised about the training requirements for all staff.  There was a concern shared about 
the requirements for part time staff, especially for programs that may be utilizing “work study” staff as 
they are only available to work 10 hours a week or less. A desire was expressed for differentiation 
between part time staff, full time staff, and work study students.  It was also requested that ICCP align 
with the licensing training requirements for staff that work 12 hours a month or less. 
 
Some providers who had recently completed Essential Trainings requested that they not have to repeat 
trainings that were a component of their Essential Training.  There was a concern that the new ICCP 
requirements were in addition to licensing requirements.  It was explained that all of the trainings will 
be free and IdahoSTARS approved, and would be accepted for state licensing.  One attendee highlighted 
that these trainings could be a benefit to staff members who were working towards incentives in the 
IdahoSTARS Professional Development System. 
 
An attendee requested that the state implement the 12 hour training requirement, they expressed that 
even with additional supports that have been made available to their program, 20 hours would be a 
burden to their program and staff.  
 
It was explained that after the orientation/year-one requirements ICCP will accept more training topics 
than licensing currently allows (such as business practices, classroom management, and social emotional 
development), and there are hundreds of available trainings to meet the ongoing requirements. 
 
It was clarified that these requirements apply to any child care provider who accepts ICCP.   
 
An attendee expressed frustration with the current process for submitting required documentation for 
licensing, ICCP, the Professional Development System, and Steps to Quality.  It was stated that these 



processes feel especially duplicative for city licensed child care providers.  They requested that the State 
and related agencies consider aligning due dates wherever possible, and standardize the process for 
submitting staff training information.  Attendees requested clearer communication and definitions 
around due dates, and reminders from IdahoSTARS. 
 
Questions were raised about the posting of monitoring results on a website.  Considering that one item 
can “fail” an inspection, it was recommended that there be a grace period for providers to pass their 
inspections, before a failed inspection was posted.   
 

Conclusion:              
As the meeting was concluded, attendees thanked for their time and were encouraged to check the 
Idaho Child Care Program website, as well as the Federal Office on Child Care’s website. All attendees 
were encouraged to submit written comments to DHW staff on all topics discussed at the meeting, and 
contact information was shared.   Finally, DHW staff agreed to be available after the meeting to answer 
questions that were not related to new rules. 
 



Meeting Summary 
ICCP Negotiated Rulemaking – Public Meetings 

Tuesday, June 21, 2016 6:00-7:30pm (Local) 

Region 5- 201 Fourth Ave. East, Twin Falls, ID   
 
Introductions:             

Ericka Rupp – Program Manager – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Fernando Castro – Acting Supervisor – Idaho Criminal History Unit – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
Aubrie McArthur – Program Specialist – Idaho Child Care Program – Dept. of Health and Welfare 
 
Attendees were asked to introduce themselves as well.  (See sign in sheets for a list of attendees.) 
 

Changes to Background Checks:          
**See the Criminal History Unit’s notes for copies of their handouts. 
 
It was explained that changes are being made to the background check requirements, due to the 
reauthorization of the Child Care and Development Block Grant.   
 
Background Check portability, and changing disqualifying criteria for applicants that are child care 
providers was discussed.  Currently DHW background checks are “portable” meaning that if you get a 
check to work in home health, and then accept a position at a child care facility you may use your 
current background check.  In the future child care background check requirements will be more 
stringent, and those cleared through DHW, but not for child care, will need a new check to meet the 
new requirements for child care. 
 
Requirement to renew background checks every five years was discussed.   
 
A brief discussion was had about the additional exclusion criteria that were added to the child care 
background check, specifically for crimes related to children. 
 
Some attendees raised a concern that if the new more stringent background check requirements are 
only applicable to child care providers; other groups that interact with children and other vulnerable 
clients would be subject to a less restrictive background check.  It was shared that in the past, some 
agencies and companies had advocated to not apply additional hiring restrictions to applicants that are 
not working with children.  Some attendees strongly advocated for strengthening the requirements for 
ALL applicants, not just child care providers.  All attendees were encouraged to support their concerns 
with written comments to the Criminal History Unit. 
 
New requirement to check child protection registries may increase fees for applicants that have lived 
out of Idaho in the past 5 years.  (Because different states charge different rates.)  Attendees wanted to 
be sure that if an applicant had not lived in another state in the last 5 years, that their background check 
fee would not increase.  That was confirmed.  Frustration was expressed by providers who budget for 



their employee’s background check if the rates may be different for employees that have lived out of 
state. 
 
CHU website will be updated to accommodate changes to the rule, and will clarify if there may be 
additional charges to complete the background check. 
 
With the new requirements, two attendees wondered how quickly applicants can receive a Notice of 
Clearance from DHW Criminal History Unit background check.  Some attendees were concerned that the 
Criminal History Unit may not be able to accommodate the additional applicants.  They explained that 
during some months (especially August) it can take 4 weeks to get a finger printing appointment.  It was 
explained that in May 2016 applicants without a criminal record were cleared on average in 3.4 calendar 
days from the date of receipt of fingerprints, and 18 days from the date of receipt of fingerprints for 
applicants with a criminal record.  This may change for applicants that have lived in other states in the 
last 5 years.  Some attendees wanted the Criminal History Unit to consider hiring seasonal staff to 
accommodate the seasonal increases in applications. 
 
Attendees wanted to know why they needed new fingerprints every 5 years.  It was explained that 
neither the State nor the FBI are allowed to store fingerprints for anyone who is not a criminal.  After a 
search is conducted, if there are no “hits”, the fingerprints are destroyed.   
 
A child provider asked when they would know if they were up for a renewal of their background check.  
It was explained that the Vendor Specialists at IdahoSTARS would communicate those due dates with 
their license or ICCP Provider Agreement renewal packet.  Due dates will “roll in” over the course of a 
year according to the license or provider agreement date. 
 
Providers discussed various methods to help their staff members afford their background checks: 
Including paying for the check and having the staff member repay for the background check through 
small payroll deductions, paying for the background check and deducting it from the employee’s final 
check if they end employment before 12 months have lapsed, and simply paying for the background 
check for all employees. 
 
Some attendees reiterated that they would like to strengthen the requirements for ALL applicants, not 
just child care providers.  One attendee was especially considered about the elderly clients in her care 
and their vulnerability to fraud and abuse by unethical employees.  All attendees were encouraged to 
discuss their concerns with their corporate offices, or employers, and support their concerns with 
written comments to the Criminal History Unit. 
 

Child Care Program Updates:           
A handout summarizing Federal updates to the Child Care Development Block Grant was shared with 
the meeting invitation (“Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 Plain Language 
Summary of Statutory Changes”), a brief summary of the new law was discussed. 
 
Aubrie provided very brief updates on non-negotiable changes to the Idaho Child Care Program covering 
topics such as: 

 New 12-month eligibility determination period for ICCP.  

 Three month coverage for families that lose their qualifying activity. 

 Phase out of child care benefits for families that become “over-income” 

 New provider requirements for emergency preparedness. 



 Background Checks (every 5 years) 

 New child care program website requirements to share provider-specific results of monitoring 
and inspection reports. 

 
New Child Care Requirements:           

All ICCP child care providers will be required to receive training in the following topic areas: 

 Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 

 SIDS and safe sleep practices; 

 Administration of medication; 

 Prevention/response to food allergies; 

 Building and physical premises safety, including identifying electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic;  

 Shaken baby syndrome and head trauma; 

 Emergency preparedness and response planning, for natural or man-caused event; 

 Storage of hazardous materials and bio contaminants; and 

 If applicable, precautions in transporting children 
 
The State researched various methods of requiring and administering the trainings and presented two 
options for the training requirements: 

Option 1 (20 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete all of “Essential Training 1” which includes 20 hours of professional 
development and includes all topic areas of Health and Safety, but also includes others 
such as Strengthening Families and Child Development. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 20 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
Option 2 (12 Hours): 
Orientation and “Year One” Requirements- 

 Complete 12 hours of professional development covering the minimum required health 
and safety topics. 

Ongoing Annual Requirements- 

 After a provider’s “orientation/year-one” annual, ongoing requirements of 12 hours of 
training required; with approximately 2 hours of that time covering the health and 
safety topics again each year. 

 
“Orientation” was explained as a period of time while a provider is beginning to accept ICCP.  
“Year One” was explained as the first year that a current ICCP provider is required to meet the 
new requirements.  All required trainings will be provided for free, online, and in English and 
Spanish. 
 

A stakeholder recommended that there be no exclusions to the training requirements for auxiliary staff 
such as bus drivers, secretaries, or cooks that are on the premises.  They thought it would be beneficial 
for all staff in a child care facility to complete the training requirements. Other attendees encouraged 
that attendee to require training of their staff if they desired. 



 
Some providers who had recently completed Essential Trainings requested that they not have to repeat 
trainings that were a component of their Essential Training.  There was a concern that the new ICCP 
requirements were in addition to licensing requirements.  It was explained that all of the trainings will 
be free and IdahoSTARS approved, and would be accepted for state licensing.  One attendee highlighted 
that these trainings could be a benefit to staff members who were working towards incentives in the 
IdahoSTARS Professional Development System. 
 
It was requested that trainings be made applicable to all child care providers, and not duplicative of 
other trainings.  Attendees expressed some frustration with being required to attend age specific 
trainings that may not be relevant to the population they serve.   
 
An attendee expressed frustration with the current process for submitting required documentation for 
licensing, ICCP, the Professional Development System, and Steps to Quality.  They requested that the 
State and related agencies consider aligning due dates wherever possible, and standardize the process 
for submitting staff training information.  Attendees requested clearer communication and definitions 
around due dates, and reminders from IdahoSTARS.  Some providers requested a 90 day “grace period” 
for staff to complete their trainings after the provider agreement was renewed.  Others requested one, 
aligned due date. 
 
Attendees requested that the required trainings be made available in-person.  They expressed 
frustration with online classes, and DVD courses, and strongly advocated to have in-person trainings 
made available over the evenings and weekends so that more staff can access the trainings. 
 
An attendee explained that some child care providers in their area had considered not accepting ICCP, 
they asked how the changes will impact providers that are licensed but not participating with ICCP.  
They expressed the possibility of not accepting ICCP if the training requirements are too burdensome.  
One attendee highlighted that these trainings could be a benefit to staff members who were working 
towards incentives in the IdahoSTARS Professional Development System. 
 
Many attendees requested that the program begin communicating the requirements as soon as possible 
so that child care providers could begin working to meet new requirements well before the due date. 
 

Conclusion:              
As the meeting was concluded, attendees thanked for their time and were encouraged to check the 
Idaho Child Care Program website, as well as the Federal Office on Child Care’s website. All attendees 
were encouraged to submit written comments to DHW staff on all topics discussed at the meeting, and 
contact information was shared.   Finally, DHW staff agreed to be available after the meeting to answer 
questions that were not related to new rules. 
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